Loading Events

2020 Biennial

October 3, 2020 - February 28, 2021

The CMCA Biennial Exhibition is an open juried competition for artists at all stages of their career who have a strong connection to the state of Maine. Work in all mediums is accepted for review.

Submission guidelines are posted in early January of the Biennial year. Submissions are due in early April, and selected artists are announced in May. The Biennial Exhibition typically takes place in the fall of even numbered years.

The CMCA Biennial is the longest running statewide juried exhibition in Maine, dating back to 1978.

Exhibition Dates: October 2020 – February 2021

Jurors for 2020

Nina Johnson-Milewski is the owner, founder, and director of Nina Johnson Gallery in the Little Haiti district of Miami, she has produced numerous solo and group exhibitions by new, emerging and established artists from around the world.

“I feel honored to be able to see the broad spectrum of artists who are connected to Maine through the applications received for the CMCA biennial. I hope this exhibition will reflect the importance of harnessing the creative spirit, particularly in times of disconnection, isolation and confusion. I truly enjoyed connecting with Kate to make these selections, and hope the audience will find moments of joy and pause in this group of work.”

Kate McNamara  is a curator and educator based in Providence, RI. She currently holds the position of Visiting Critic at Rhode Island School of Art and Design and is the Creative Director of My HomeCourt, a nonprofit organization working with contemporary artists to revitalize city parks.

“With over 500 submissions the process of looking through the Biennial entries offered us an opportunity to view an incredibly diverse range of art practices reflected in the contemporary art field. I am thrilled with our final selection of work which reflects some of the hopefulness and re-imagining this particular and historical moment in time calls for.”


2020 Biennial Artists

Jeffrey Ackerman (Morrill, ME)

Henry Austin (Portland, ME)

Susan Beallor-Snyder (Southwest Harbor, ME + New York, NY)

Fanny Brodar (Kennebunkport, ME)

Anne Buckwalter (Portland, ME + Philadelphia, PA)

Penn Chan (Portland, ME)

Ben DeHaan (Portland, ME)

Brian Doody (Portland, ME)

Jenny McGee Dougherty, (South Portland, ME)

Norajean Ferris (Portland, ME)

Donna Festa (Bangor, ME)

Sam Finkelstein (Rockland, ME)

Kevin Ford (Portland, ME + Norwalk, CT)

Elyse Noelani Grams (Portland, ME)

Meg Hahn (Portland, ME)

Breehan James (Scarborough, ME)

Gregory Jamie (Portland, ME)

Tom Jessen (Temple, ME)

Baxter Koziol (Portland, ME)

Mandy Lamb (Norridgewock, ME)

Phil Lonergan (Portland, ME + Campton, NH)

Hector Nevarez Magaña (Portland, ME)

Ashley Normal (York, ME + Nashua, NH)

Isabelle Maschal O’Donnell (Portland, ME)

Elijah Ober (South Portland, ME)

Aaron Rosenblum (Northport, ME + Louisville, KY)

Nicholas J Sevigney (Wells, ME + Holderness, NH)

Susan L Smith (Dover-Foxcroft, ME)

Maia Snow (Portland, ME + Austin, TX)

Benjamin Spalding (Portland, ME)

Richard Van Buren (Perry, ME)

Jimmy Viera (Portland, ME)

Susan B. Webster (Deer Isle, ME)

Erin Woodbrey (Sebago Lake, ME + Orleans, MA)


Center for Maine Contemporary Art announces biennial artists for 2020 by Bob Keyes, Portland Press Herald, May 1, 2020


October 3
February 28, 2021
Event Category:


21 Winter Street
Rockland, ME 04841 United States